The Vorontsovsky Palace was constructed from 1830-1848, to be used as a summer residence of the governor-general of the Novorossiysky Krai, Prince Mikhail Semyonovich Vorontsov. For three generations, the Vorontsovsky Palace belonged to the Vorontsov family. After the Soviets came to power the palace was transformed into a museum, which took up the main, dining, and library wings. In 1927, a resort was opened in a wing of the palace, and a polyclinic and rest facility was opened within the palace's technical wing.
When World War II began in 1941, workers at the museum evacuated many architectural pieces, including some 537 items of art and graphics, 360 pieces of the building's decor, sets of unique furniture, and a series of historic books. After the war, a small collection was recovered and placed back in the palace.